Arlington Virginia DWI laws

Arlington Virginia DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated. The criminal law offense of operating a vehicle after having drunk an amount of alcohol sufficient to raise one’s blood alcohol content above a legal limit commonly referred to by the acronym DWI. Also known as driving under the influence (DUI). If you think alcohol-related crimes are only DUI charges then this is not true in Virginia has a slew of alcohol- and drug-related crimes that can cost you money, freedom, and your license.

Such drug and alcohol crimes include:

  • Open container in the passenger area of a vehicle.
  • Alcohol buying for an underage person.
  • Possessing alcohol on school and other study institute property.
  • Misrepresenting your age and limitations.

If you’re only 21 years old and purchase, possess or consume alcohol you face the following problems like

  • License suspension for up to 1 year
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • Possible Alcohol Safety Action Program.
  • Possible restricted driver’s license according to the action.

Other different offenses numbers show different penalties

First Offense

  • License suspension for 7 days.
  • Minimum $250 fine; maximum $300 fine.
  • License revocation for 1 year or more time
  • Possible Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP).
  • Possible ignition interlock device.
  • Restricted driver’s license.
  • Criminal record.

Second Offense

  • license suspension for 60 days.
  • Minimum $500 fine.
  • License revocation for 2 to 3 years
  • Within the 5 years of the first offense, a mandatory 1 month to 1 year in jail.
  • Within the 10 years of the first offense, a mandatory minimum 10 days in jail.
  • Court-ordered restitution.
  • Ignition interlock device.
  • Restricted driver’s license.
  • Criminal record.

Third Offense

  • License suspension until your trial.
  • Within 5 years, 6 months in jail.
  • Within 10 years, 90 days in jail.
  • Indefinite license revocation.
  • Minimum $1,000 fine.
  • Felony charges are applied in this offense

Fourth Offense

  • License suspension until your trial.
  • Maximum $1,000 fine.
  • Any court-ordered restitution.
  • Revocation of license for an indefinite time period.
  • Minimum of 1 year in jail.
  • Possible Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP).
  • Ignition interlock device.
  • Restricted driver’s license.
  • Felony charge apply

A person who gets a DUI conviction must report to an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP). During the initial visit drivers receive a screening and probationary oversight for license reinstatement. In this period, the ASAP professionals and their helpers will determine the education, intervention, and treatment programs are necessary. If ASAP assigns you to an education program, the number and duration of classes will depend on the program that will you pay it. DWI arrests lead to court appearances, and appearing in court on a DWI charge without legal representation isn’t a smart move.

At the least, you’re looking at fines and restitution and a DWI school at the most, a jail sentence and even the loss of your vehicle.

For your own protection consider these tips

  • You want someone familiar with the state’s laws.
  • Look for lawyers who specialize in VA DWI laws and already have experience
  • Ask the lawyers you’re considering for general information about their past cases. Find out how they think your case compares to others.